1. <form id=uRyAT><nobr id=OwsRU></nobr></form>
      <address id=oMlGc><nobr id=lZSxi><nobr id=KuJUx></nobr></nobr></address>

      Entry into force of the UK-ESA Economic Partnership Agreement on 1st January 2021

      Mauritius along with two Eastern Southern Africa (ESA) states namely Seychelles and Zimbabwe signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) with the United Kingdom (UK) on 31st January 2019.

      The UK -ESA EPA will enter into force on 01st January 2021 after the Brexit transitional period ends on 31st December 2020. The agreement is in principle a continuity agreement based on the EU-ESA interim Economic Partnership Agreement (iEPA).  The provisions of the Agreement are similar to those of the EU-ESA iEPA.

      The UK-ESA EPA contains 3 chapters namely Trade in Goods, Fisheries and Development Cooperation.  Mauritius will continue to benefit from duty free, quota free access on all products, including that of high export interest such as sugar, tuna, garments, agro processed products, on similar terms as the EU-ESA IEPA.  The Rules of Origin applicable are similar as well.  The use of the EUR 1 Certificate of Origin will be maintained.

      The Agreement provides an automatic derogation of 6,200 tons of non-originating tuna that can be used in the production of canned tuna and 341 tonnes of tuna loins. This quota will be shared among Mauritius, Seychelles and Madagascar.  

      The Agreement also contains a Rendez-Vous clause regarding future negotiation between ESA and the UK on areas not currently covered by the EPA, such as trade in services, investment, trade facilitation, competition policy, trade facilitation amongst others.

      The text of the Agreement can be accessed on the link below:



      Sources : ITD

      Back to all the news

      Return to top

      HoMEmenunM64e-xinwenLwgQH-xinwendFJ9s-xinwenCopyrights 2015.All rights reserved.More welcome - Collect from power by english Blok number sss85786789633111 Copyright