1. <form id=uRyAT><nobr id=OwsRU></nobr></form>
      <address id=oMlGc><nobr id=lZSxi><nobr id=KuJUx></nobr></nobr></address>

      Trade under the AfCFTA starts on 01 January 2021

      The African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) was signed in
      March 2018.

      The AfCFTA consists of three Protocols, namely:

      1. Protocol on Trade in Goods;
      2. Protocol on Trade in Services; and
      3. Protocol on Rules and Procedures on the Settlement of   Disputes.

      Trade under the AfCFTA starts on 01 January 2021 among countries having submitted their market access offers and ratified the Agreement.

      As at December 2020, 34 countries have ratified the Agreement, namely Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Chad, Côte d'Ivoire, Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

      With regard to trade in goods, upon entry into force of the Agreement, Mauritius would benefit from preferential access on those products whereby the rules of origin exists.

      In principle, countries and members of Customs Unions with which Mauritius can trade on preferential terms under the AfCFTA as from 1st January 2021 are as follows:

      Member States

      1. Egypt
      2. Sao Tome and Principe

      Customs Union

      1.    Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC)
      Cameroon, Chad, Congo Republic, Equatorial Guinea and Gabon

      2.    East African Community (EAC)
      Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda

      3.    Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)
      Nigeria, Niger, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Mauritania, Sierra Leone, The   Gambia, Togo, Cabo Verde and Mali

      4.    Southern African Customs Union (SACU)
      Eswatini, Namibia and South Africa

      However, it is to be noted that trade with COMESA/SADC Member States will continue on the basis of the COMESA Treaty and the SADC Trade Protocol as is the case currently.  Consequently, the AfCFTA opens up trade opportunities on non COMESA/SADC markets.

      Details of the African Continental Free Trade Agreement, the market access offers of the above countries and applicable rules of origin are available below:

      Annex 1: Agreement establishing the AfCFTA

      Annex II: Compiled Annexes to the AfCFTA Agreement

      Annex III: Market Access offers of Member States/Customs Union

      Annex IV: Agreed Rules of Origin


      AfCFTA webpage

      Sources : ITD

      Back to all the news

      Return to top

      HoMEmenu9ckb2-xinwenXYBY2-xinwenVieKK-xinwenCopyrights 2015.All rights reserved.More welcome - Collect from power by english Blok number sss85786789633111 Copyright